About Admin_MCI

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Admin_MCI has created 28 blog entries.

Le tout premier système de suivi d’investigation du cancer du poumon

L'année dernière, notre appel à l'action a été bien reçcu et nous avons pu mettre en œuvre le premier programme de dépistage du cancer du poumon au Québec. Cette année, nous aimerions, encore une fois, faire appel à votre générosité pour nous aider à mettre en œuvre le premier système de suivi d’investigation du cancer du poumon. Imaginez la peur et l'incertitude accablantes qu'un patient peut ressentir à la suite d'un diagnostic de cancer du poumon. De la suspicion initiale au diagnostic et au traitement, le processus d'investigation peut souvent prendre beaucoup de temps, pendant que les patients passent [...]

2019-11-13T22:08:15-05:00novembre 13th, 2019|Non classifié(e)|

Le tournoi de balle molle Raymond James frappe un coup de circuit pour le premier Programme de dépistage du cancer du poumon au Québec

C’était une journée fantastique lors de la 7e édition du tournoi annuel de balle molle Raymond James au profit de la Fondation de l'Institut thoracique de Montréal, qui s'est déroulée à Côte-St-Luc le 24 août. Les Lobes de l’ITM ont vaincu les Bulls de Raymond James, tout en amassant plus de 25 000 $ pour une bonne cause : le premier programme de dépistage du cancer du poumon au Québec. Le cancer du poumon, le cancer le plus souvent diagnostiqué au Canada, est la principale cause de décès chez les Canadiens. Au Québec, plus de femmes meurent du cancer [...]

2019-10-22T13:17:20-04:00octobre 22nd, 2019|Non classifié(e)|

Le premier programme de dépistage du cancer du poumon au Québec

L’année dernière, en 2018, la Fondation de l’Institut thoracique de Montréal (FITM) a lancé son appel annuel afin de recueillir des fonds pour lancer le premier programme de dépistage du cancer du poumon au Québec à l’Institut thoracique de Montréal (ITM). Situé sur le site Glen du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM), l’ITM est le premier hôpital au Québec à offrir cette initiative révolutionnaire qui utilise une tomodensitométrie (CT scan) à faible radiation chez des patients à risque élevé pour détecter des cancers de poumon avant qu’ils ne causent des symptômes. Le cancer du poumon est le cancer [...]

2019-08-21T15:39:17-04:00août 21st, 2019|Non classifié(e)|

La 6e édition annuelle de la partie de balle molle de la Fondation Raymond James a été un franc succès !

Le samedi 18 août, la 6e édition annuelle de la partie de balle molle de la Fondation Raymond James a eu lieu au profit de l’Institut thoracique de Montréal (ITM). Cette année, les dons recueillis ont servi à aider à ouvrir une clinique innovante spécialisée dans les maladies interstitielles pulmonaires (MIP). Les maladies interstitielles pulmonaires touchent près de 15 % de nos patients et elles désignent un groupe de maladies pulmonaires difficiles à diagnostiquer qui causent de la cicatrisation (fibrose) ou de l’inflammation des poumons. La nouvelle clinique fournira une expertise particulière et du soutien à nos patients. Nous [...]

2018-10-23T12:25:44-04:00octobre 23rd, 2018|Événements|

La Bourse de recherche Dre Margaret Becklake

La Fondation de l'Institut thoracique de Montréal est fière de rendre hommage à l'héritage et à l'immense contribution de la Dre Becklake, qui a formé des générations de cliniciens et de chercheurs en santé respiratoire, en lançant la Bourse de recherche Dre Margaret Becklake. Cette bourse sera remise à au moins un stagiaire en recherche respiratoire chaque année et servira à payer son salaire pendant qu'il effectue de la recherche sous la supervision de scientifiques de l'Institut thoracique de Montréal (ITM) du Centre universitaire de santé de santé McGill. Les récipiendaires choisis proviendront de pays à faible revenu et [...]

2018-10-18T11:49:29-04:00octobre 18th, 2018|Médecins|

La Fondation de l’ITM dévoile une plaque commémorative en reconnaissance de la contribution importante de Raymond James à l’ITM

Le Tournoi annuel de balle molle de bienfaisance Raymond James a recueilli 130,000 $ pour de l’équipement, des cliniques et de la recherche qui changent des vies à l’Institut thoracique de Montréal du Centre universitaire de santé McGillPhoto (ci-dessus) : Richard Rousseau, Mitch Rosenberg et Martin Leclerc de Raymond James à côté de la nouvelle plaque remerciant la société financière. La plaque est située à l’extérieur de la salle où se trouve l’équipement de mesure d’exercice que Raymond James a pu acheter grâce au tournoi annuel de balle molle afin d'aider les patients souffrant de MPOC.La Fondation de l’Institut [...]

2018-07-06T07:31:33-04:00juillet 5th, 2018|Donateurs|

L’ITM recrute une spécialiste des maladies interstitielles pulmonaires (MIP)

Jouer au détective est l’un des aspects de son travail que Dre Deborah Assayag préfère. La pneumologue, qui se joindra à l’équipe de l’Institut thoracique de Montréal (ITM) du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM) en juillet, se spécialise dans le traitement des maladies interstitielles pulmonaires (MIP), un groupe de maladies pulmonaires difficiles à diagnostiquer qui causent de la cicatrisation (fibrose) ou de l’inflammation des poumons. « Je suis un peu comme Sherlock Holmes. Lorsque je rencontre des patients pour la première fois, je pose beaucoup de questions et je fais une évaluation très détaillée de leurs antécédents médicaux. [...]

2018-06-30T11:14:50-04:00juin 30th, 2018|Cliniques, Médecins|

Pourquoi j’aime mon travail : l’infirmière Joanie Bernier a trouvé sa vocation

Joanie Bernier prédit que son premier et son dernier emploi seront à l’Institut thoracique de Montréal (ITM) du Centre universitaire de santé McGill. L’infirmière coordonnatrice aime tellement son travail qu’elle compte prendre sa retraite de l’ITM en 2041! On peut dire que Joanie a trouvé sa voie. Il y a plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles elle aime tant les soins infirmiers, mais les plus importantes sont qu’elle a des collègues fantastiques et la chance d’interagir avec des patients et de leur fournir le confort et la sécurité dont ils ont besoin lorsqu’ils sont les plus vulnérables. « Chaque soir, lorsque [...]

2018-05-18T13:11:00-04:00juin 20th, 2017|Infirmières|

Mikaëlaglaë Tunis, fière membre de l’équipe d’inhalothérapeutes de l’Institut thoracique de Montréal!

Mikaëlaglaë « Mikëy » Tunis a décidé d’étudier en inhalothérapie parce que cette profession lui offrait plusieurs choix. Elle pouvait travailler en salle d’opération, aux soins intensifs, en laboratoire ou au sein d’une équipe de soins à domicile. Elle a choisi de travailler à l’Institut thoracique de Montréal (ITM) du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM). Il y a 13 ans de cela et même si elle a essayé de travailler ailleurs, elle est toujours revenue à l’ITM, sa deuxième « maison ». Elle explique que les rôles et les responsabilités d’un inhalothérapeute augmentent et évoluent sans cesse. Elle [...]

2018-05-18T12:43:27-04:00octobre 26th, 2016|Inhalothérapeutes, Uncategorized|

L’histoire de Chelsea : Une jeune femme atteinte de fibrose kystique attend la cure qui lui sauvera la vie

La plupart d’entre nous avalent une multivitamine tous les matins. Chelsea Gagnon avale de 20 à 30 comprimés par jour, donc 10 000 comprimés par année. La jeune femme de 27 ans souffre de fibrose kystique (FK) : son corps produit du mucus épais et collant qui obstrue ses poumons, ce qui rend la respiration difficile. La maladie la rend plus vulnérable aux infections des sinus et des poumons, comme la bronchite et la pneumonie. À la longue, l’inflammation chronique provoquée par les infections à répétition endommagera ses poumons. Chelsea a été une patiente de la Clinique de fibrose kystique [...]

2018-05-18T12:43:27-04:00octobre 24th, 2016|Patients, Uncategorized|

About Admin_MCI

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Admin_MCI has created 28 blog entries.

The First Ever Lung Cancer Investigation Tracking System

Last year our call to action was well received and we were able to implement the first Lung Cancer Screening Program in Quebec. This year, we would like to, once again, call upon your generosity to help us implement the first ever Lung Cancer Investigation Tracking System. Imagine the overwhelming fear and uncertainty that a patient can experience following a lung cancer diagnosis. From initial suspicion to diagnosis and treatment, the investigation process can often take a long time, as patients go through a plethora of tests, imaging studies and invasive procedures to determine the extent of the disease [...]

2019-11-13T21:48:47-05:00November 13th, 2019|Uncategorized|

The Raymond James Softball Game Hits a Homerun for Quebec’s First Lung Cancer Screening Program

It was blue skies and smiles all around as the 7th edition of the annual Raymond James softball game, benefiting the Montreal Chest Institute Foundation, took place in Côte-St-Luc on Saturday, August 24th. The MCI Lobes defeated the Raymond James Bulls, all in the name of raising over $25,000 for a worthy cause: Quebec’s first Lung Cancer Screening Program. The most commonly diagnosed cancer in Canada, lung cancer is the leading cause of death among Canadians. In Quebec, more women die of lung cancer than breast cancer. Unfortunately, lung cancer is often diagnosed at an advanced stage, when it [...]

2019-10-22T13:08:45-04:00October 22nd, 2019|Uncategorized|

Quebec’s First Lung Cancer Screening Program

Last year, in 2018, the Montreal Chest Institute Foundation (MCIF) dedicated its annual appeal to raising funds to start the first Lung Cancer Screening Program in Quebec at the Montreal Chest Institute (MCI). Located at the Glen site of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC), the MCI is the first hospital in Quebec to offer this ground-breaking initiative which uses special CT scans that provide low doses of radiation to detect lung cancers before they cause symptoms, on high-risk patients. Lung cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer in Canada, and the leading cause of death in Canadians. To [...]

2019-08-21T15:39:09-04:00August 21st, 2019|Uncategorized|

The 6th Annual Raymond James Charity Softball Game was a Success!

On Saturday, August 18th, the 6th Annual Raymond James charity softball game was held to benefit the MCI. This year, money raised went to help open an innovative clinic for interstitial lung disease (ILD) that will be a new specialty focus for the MCI. ILD affects approximately 15% of our patients and is a group of difficult to diagnose pulmonary diseases that cause scarring (fibrosis) and/or inflammation of the lungs. The new clinic will provide special expertise and support for our patients. A big thank you to all donors and supporters! As for the softball game itself, the MCI Lobes [...]

2018-10-23T12:21:17-04:00October 23rd, 2018|Events|

Introducing the Dr. Margaret Becklake Fellowship

The Montreal Chest Institute Foundation is proud to honour Dr. Becklake’s legacy and immense contribution in developing generations of respiratory clinicians and researchers by launching the Dr. Margaret Becklake Fellowship. This fellowship will be awarded to at least one trainee in respiratory research every year and will pay her or his salary as s/he conducts research under the supervision of scientists at the Montreal Chest Institute of the McGill University Health Centre. Recipients will be chosen from low- and middle-income countries as well as from Canadian Indigenous communities. Over the course of her career, Dr. Becklake had a major [...]

2018-10-18T09:25:29-04:00October 18th, 2018|Doctors|

The MCI Foundation unveils plaque recognizing Raymond James’ tremendous contribution to the MCI

Annual Raymond James Charity Softball Game raises $130,000 for life-changing equipment, clinics and research at the Montreal Chest Institute of the McGill University Health Centre Photo (above): Richard Rousseau, Mitch Rosenberg and Martin Leclerc from Raymond James stand next to the financial firm’s new plaque outside the exercise testing equipment room. Funds raised from their charity softball tournament paid for all the equipment in this room, to help patients with COPD. The Montreal Chest Institute Foundation extends a heartfelt thank you to the incredible team at Raymond James, a diversified financial services firm, which over the past five years, [...]

2018-07-06T07:27:20-04:00July 5th, 2018|Donors|

MCI recruits leading interstitial lung diseases (ILD) specialist

Playing detective is one of the things Dr. Deborah Assayag really likes about her job. The respirologist, who will be joining the team at the Montreal Chest Institute (MCI) of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) in July, specializes in the treatment of interstitial lung diseases (ILD), a group of difficult to diagnose pulmonary diseases that cause scarring (fibrosis) and/or inflammation of the lungs. “I am a bit like Sherlock Holmes. When I meet patients for the first time, I ask a lot of questions and take a very thorough medical history. I ask about their jobs, their medications, [...]

2018-06-30T15:39:59-04:00June 30th, 2018|Clinics, Doctors|

Why I love my nursing job: Joanie Bernier has found her calling

Joanie Bernier predicts her first and last job will be at the Montreal Chest Institute (MCI) of the McGill University Health Centre. The nurse coordinator loves her job so much she plans to retire from the MCI in 2041! You could say, Joanie has found her niche. The reasons she enjoys nursing so much are many, but key among them are great colleagues and the opportunity to connect with patients and provide them comfort and security when they are most vulnerable. “Every night when I get home, I know that I have made a small difference in the lives [...]

2018-05-18T12:43:27-04:00June 20th, 2017|Nurses|

Mikaëlaglaë Tunis, proud member of Montreal Chest Institute’s team of respiratory therapists!

Mikaëlaglaë ‘Mikëy’ Tunis decided to study respiratory therapy because the profession gave her options. She could work in an operating room, an intensive care unit, a laboratory or as part of a home care team. She chose to work at the Montreal Chest Institute (MCI) of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC). That was 13 years ago and while she has tried working elsewhere, the MCI keeps calling her home. She explains the roles and responsibilities of a respiratory therapist (RT) are continuously expanding and evolving. In addition, she says, new medical technologies make the profession endlessly interesting and [...]

2018-05-18T12:43:27-04:00October 26th, 2016|Respiratory Therapists|

Chelsea’s story: Young woman with cystic fibrosis waits for the cure that will save her life

Most of us might pop a multivitamin each morning. Chelsea Gagnon swallows 20 to 30 pills per day or 10,000 pills a year. The 27-year-old has cystic fibrosis (CF): her body produces thick, sticky mucous that clogs her lungs, making it hard to breathe. The disease makes her prone to sinus and lung infections such as bronchitis and pneumonia. Eventually, chronic inflammation triggered by repeated infections will damage her lungs. Chelsea has been a patient of the Cystic Fibrosis Clinic at the Montreal Chest Institute (MCI) of the McGill University Health Centre her entire adult life. CF is the [...]

2018-05-18T12:43:29-04:00October 19th, 2016|Patients|